What is a work of art?

We can't find an exact definition of the work of art in the dictionaries. This does not mean that it does not exist! From a historical point of view, the artists realized new works and this notion evolved in the collective imagination recently. For as much the legislative texts frame and limit the field. This is an important question in our expertise and furniture inventories.

Work and art, two distinct notions

From the online site Wikipedia, " A work of art, or art object, is an artistic or aesthetic object or creation. It is usually an item made by an artist. A masterpiece was formerly the proof of excellence that a journeyman had to present to be promoted to mastery in his guild "
But this definition is very limiting. To clarify, our beloved general tax code specifies this definition in the tax framework.
We will review in detail whatarticle 98 A of the general tax code says, which defines "as works of art the following achievements".

Seven categories of works of art defined in the General Tax Code

At the beginning, we learn that "paintings, collages and similar tableaus, paintings and drawings, entirely executed by hand by the artist, excluding drawings of architects of engineers (...) workshop funds or similar uses" are works of art.

In the second point, " engravings, prints and original lithographs must be drawn in limited numbers (...) from one or more plates entirely executed by hand by the artist (...)".

In the third point, the articles of jewelry, goldsmiths and jewelers do not enter in this analysis.
This point addresses the question of sculptures " of all materials.As long as the productions are entirely executed by the artist, and that their "castings (are) limited to 8 copies. These works are controlledby the artist or his beneficiaries". In addition, three distinct designations exist for any work of art obtained by foundry. It is an "original", "multiple" or "unique" work. This choice depends on the artist. Determined before the first piece is made, it is irrevocable.

Details

Let's look at the definition of the word original. It is any work of art made of metal alloy up to 12 copies.

The four "artist's proofs" are numbered in Roman numerals. The following ones are numbered with Arabic numerals. Let's take an example: 1/8. The artist's proofs are numbered EA I/V, EA II/IV, EA III/IV, EA IV/IV and the other 8 1/8, 2/8 etc. Other markings such as O or HC are not allowed. If it is decided to make less than 12 prints, this choice of the number of prints is irrevocably determined before casting. This number cannot be exceeded.

Now let's see what the word "multiple" means without an example. It means that each coin has a number from 1/100 to 100/100. This number sometimes goes further.
Also, the single coin or PU is not duplicated. It is not an artist's proof.

Let's go further into this legislation

Let's follow the next four paragraphs which specify the categories of works of art.

The fourth paragraph deals with tapestries, wall textiles. The original works of art are limited to "eight copies of each of them". These works correspond to the original cartoons provided by the artist.
The fifth paragraph concerns ceramics and earthenware. These works of art represent "unique copies of ceramics entirely executed by the artist and signed by him".

In the sixth paragraph, "enamels on copper, entirely executed by hand, within the limit of eight numbered copies and including the signature of the artist or the art workshop, with the exception of articles of jewelry, goldsmithery and jewelry".


In the last and 7th point, the "photographs taken by the artist, drawn by him or under his control". The print run is limited to 30 copies, all signed and numbered, all formats and media combined.
In order to bring you the best advice, we use this precise terminology in our inventories.

 

You wish to have a valuable work of art that belongs to you appraised?
Let's get in touch!

Œuvres et Collections

Qu'est ce qu'une œuvre d'art ?

On ne trouve pas une définition exacte de l’œuvre d’art dans les dictionnaires. Cela ne veut pas dire qu’elle n’existe pas ! D’un point de vue historique, les artistes ont réalisé de nouvelles oeuvres et cette notion a évolué dans l’imaginaire collectif récemment. Pour autant les textes législatifs encadre et limite le champ . C’est une question importante dans nos expertises et inventaires mobilier.

Oeuvre et art, deux notions distinctes

Sur le site en ligne Wikipédia, « Une œuvre d’art, ou un objet d’art, est un objet ou une création artistique ou esthétique. C’est généralement un élément fait par un artiste. Un chef-d’œuvre est anciennement la preuve de l’excellence que devait présenter le compagnon pour être promu à la maîtrise dans sa corporation »
Or cette définition est très limitative. Pour clarifier, notre code général des impôts bien aimé précise cette définition dans le cadre fiscal.
Nous allons revoir en détail ce que dit l’article 98 A du code général des impôts qui définit « comme œuvres d’art les réalisations ci-après ».

Sept catégories d’œuvres d’art définies au Code général des Impôts

Au début, nous apprenons que « les tableaux, collages et tableautins similaires, peintures et dessins, entièrement exécutés à la main par l’artiste, à l’exclusion des dessins d’architectes d’ingénieurs (…) fonds d’ateliers ou usages analogues » sont des œuvres d’art.

En second point, « les gravures, estampes et lithographies originales doivent être tirées en nombre limitées (…) d’une ou plusieurs planches entièrement exécutées à la main de l’artiste (…) ».

Au troisième point, les articles de bijouterie, d’orfèvrerie et de joaillerie n’entrent pas dans cette analyse.
Ce point aborde la question des sculptures « de toutes matières .Dès lors que les productions sont exécutées entièrement par l’artiste, et que leurs « fontes (sont) limitées à 8 exemplaires. Ces œuvres sont contrôlées par l’artiste ou ses ayants droits ». De plus, trois appellations distinctes existent pour toute œuvre d’art obtenue par fonderie. Il s’agit d’une œuvre “originale”, « multiple », ou « pièce unique ». Ce choix dépend de l’artiste. Déterminé avant la réalisation de la première pièce, il est irrévocable.

Précisions

Arrêtons-nous sur la définition du mot original. Il s’agit ici de toute œuvre d’art en alliage métallique jusqu’au nombre de 12 exemplaires.

Les quatre exemplaires « épreuves d’artiste » se numérotent en chiffre romains. Les suivantes portent des chiffres arabes. Prenons un exemple: 1/8. Les épreuves d’artistes portent les numéros EA I/V, EA II/IV, EA III/IV, EA IV/IV et les 8 autres 1/8, 2/8 etc. Les autres marquages comme O ou HC sont interdits. Si l’on décide de faire moins de 12 tirages, ce choix du nombre de tirages se détermine avant la fonte et ce de façon irrévocable. On ne peut pas franchir ce nombre.

Voyons maintenant ce que signifie le mot « multiple » sans un exemple. Cela veut dire que chaque pièce porte une mention allant de 1/100 à 100/100. Ce nombre va plus loin parfois.
De plus, la pièce unique ou PU ne se duplique pas. Elle n’est pas une épreuve d’artiste.

Allons plus loin dans ce texte législatif

Suivons les quatre alinéas suivants qui précisent les catégories d’œuvres d’art.

Le quatrième alinéa aborde les tapisseries, textiles muraux. Les œuvres d’art originales se limitent à « huit exemplaires de chacun d’eux ». Ces œuvres correspondent aux cartons originaux fournis par l’artiste.
Le cinquième alinéa concerne les céramiques et faïences. Ces œuvres d’art représentent des « exemplaires uniques de céramiques entièrement exécutés par l’artiste et signé par lui ».

Au sixième alinéa, « les émaux sur cuivre, entièrement exécutés à la main, dans la limite de huit exemplaires numérotés et comportant la signature de l’artiste ou de l’atelier d’art, à l’exclusion des articles de bijouterie, d’orfèvrerie et de joaillerie »


Au dernier et 7ème point, les « photographies prises par l’artiste, tirées par lui ou sous son contrôle ». Le tirage se limite à 30 exemplaires, tous signées et numérotés, tous formats et supports confondus.
Soucieux de vous apporter les meilleurs conseils, nous utilisons cette terminologie précise dans nos inventaires.

 

Vous souhaitez faire expertiser une œuvre d'art de valeur qui vous appartient ?
Prenons contact !

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Entrer pour rechercher

Panier
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this